Power of Names


I don’t like my name, people don’t pronounce it correctly most of the time..Luanna, except the meaning

With only one n it means Graceful battle maiden or female warrior

I changed my name when I got married both times, I have gone back to the first marriage name at my children’s request.

All my children were named after a relative…..but they were people I liked and respected.

My nickname is “girl” or “brat”, which my Dad calls me depending πŸ™‚Β  and “Red” in school, my hair, really original lol.

I had a nickname that 2 childhood friends called me “LuLu” they were sisters who died way too young.Β  Therefore no one else may call me that name.

Sort of named after my Mom but not quite.

Names make people think of beauty, ugly, smart, belonging to certain religions, strength.

In books and stories a name can produce feeling and in life I don’t thing they mean anything in regard to the person.

Pingback:http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/17/writing-challenge-names/#more-70813

26 thoughts on “Power of Names

  1. vicbriggs says:

    Luanna with one n – I like the meaning too. Learning something new.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Power of Names | sothislife […]

    Like

  3. lauramacky says:

    OMG! My nickname my stepdad gave me (god rest his soul) was Lulu as well. I used that name in an online game though which was very addictive and no longer play, so I stopped using that nickname. But what a coincidence. BTW, I’ve always imagined the pronunciation of your name to be Lew-AH-nah. Is that correct?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mewhoami says:

    I like your name. It’s different. Mine, which is unpublished, is very common. It’s good to be unique.

    Like

  5. mewhoami says:

    I’ve nominated you for the Quintet of Radiance Award. You can read about it here: https://mewhoami.wordpress.com/2014/03/19/quintet-of-radiance-award/

    Like

  6. litadoolan says:

    I like your name.

    Like

Leave a comment